Srila Prabhupada Ashraya Enrollment

After practicing at the level of a Gaura Sadhaka for some time the experience of bhakti and the study of Srila Prabhupada’s teachings will inspire you to fully adopt the practices and commitments of a dedicated shiksa (student)  disciple of Srila Prabhupada and commit your life to this path. At this point once coming to the standards listed here you have entered the stage of full shelter of Srila Prabhupada as your shiksha guru. This stage is called Srila Prabhupada Ashraya  

CDM Standards 

  • To be dedicated to taking divine shelter of Srila Prabhupada by following the principles of Krishna Consciousness.  
  • To practice Krishna Consciousness with strong conviction.  
  • To chant a minimum of sixteen rounds of the Hare Krishna Maha-mantra every day.  
  • To strictly refrain from meat eating (including fish, egg, onion and garlic), intoxication (including coffee and tea), gambling, illicit sex and activities detrimental to progress in devotional service  
  • To be familiar in the basics of Krishna conscious philosophy by reading the books of Srila Prabhupada systematically and is actively engaged in sharing Krishna Conscious principles (according to his/her capacity) to others  
  • To do some responsible service (however simple it may be), on a regular basis.  
  • To rise early in the morning and follow a program similar to the temple as far as possible.  
  • To attend at least one Srimad Bhagavatam/Srimad Bhagavad-Gita class every week.  


  • 12 rounds 
  • Read Big Books 
  • Principle of Non-Violence Ahimsa, No Encouragement, No Unlawful Relationships, No Gambling 
  • Course: sadhana bhakti 
  • Take prasad and follow the ekadasis 
  • Altar Photos & Minimal Worship 


  • At least 16 rounds of japa mala every day (Preferably in the mornings). 

Sankalpa (Committment)

  • In addition to drugs and alcohol, to abstain from all forms of stimulants including caffeine (coffee, tea etc.), and nicotine (tobacco, vaping, etc.) 


  • Srimad Bhagavatam – 1st canto 
  • Sri Isopanisad 
  • Srila Prabhupada Lilamrita 


  • Growing Bhakti Course – Level 2 


  • Attend at least 4 Gaura Sadhaka meetings 
  • Enroll in a Prabhupadanuga Group 
  • Attend Srimad Bhagavatam class at least once a week 


  • Rise early and perform a daily morning program including some participation in arati or puja 


  • Regularly engage in responsible service in sharing bhakti with others 

Which all Bhakti Literatures have you read so far? Please describe one of the chapters you read that was a highlight for you
Please describe some ways in which you have applied the teachings you learned from your reading.
Do you agree to the practice of the above mentioned Sankalpa (Commitments)?